Felonies
Protecting Your Freedom. Defending Your Future.
Facing felony charges can be overwhelming, with consequences that may affect your freedom, family, career, and future. You deserve experienced legal guidance, a clear understanding of your options, and a defense that takes your rights seriously.
Facing felony charges can be overwhelming, with consequences that may affect your freedom, family, career, and future. You deserve experienced legal guidance, a clear understanding of your options, and a defense that takes your rights seriously.
What is a DWI in New Mexico?
New Mexico Statutes § 66-8-102 prohibits driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. If you are facing a DWI conviction the consequences could include jail and/or prison time and thousands of dollars in fines. Each case has a different set of circumstances that go into determining the outcome of your specific case.
Understanding your rights and legal options can be challenging—especially after an arrest. A DWI charge can carry serious consequences, but you don’t have to navigate the legal process alone.
Goldberg Law is here to help you understand your rights, explore potential defenses, and guide you through each step of the process.
FAQ
What blood alcohol content is considered over the legal limit?
21 years & older: .08% BAC and higher
Under 21 years: .02% BAC and higher
Commercial drivers: .04% BAC and higher
Can I be arrested for a DWI if my BAC is below the legal limit?
Yes, you can still be arrested and charged with a DWI if you blew under the legal limit if your driving is believed to have been impaired by alcohol or drugs.
What is an aggravated DWI?
An aggravated DWI can be charged if your BAC is .16% or higher, if you refuse the breath test, or if you caused injury to another person while driving.
Will I lose my license if I get a DWI?
You must request a hearing and send in a $25 fee to the MVD within 10 days of your violation to request a hearing or your license will be automatically revoked. Requesting a hearing does not guarantee you will keep your license but you will lose your license is you do not request it.
Will I go to jail for a DWI?
Penalties for DWI convictions vary, and they go up with each additional DWI you are convicted of. Speak to an attorney about what you might expect for your specific case.
When is the best time to seek representation?
As soon as possible! Deadlines are vital in court cases and you do not want important deadlines to pass before you look for help.